Sobering Stats for St. Patrick’s Day
Don’t let you or your friends add to these numbers.
Have a happy and safe St. Patrick’s Day.
SOBERING STATS OF
ST. PATRICK’S DAY CELEBRATING
|#4||–||Most popular drinking day of the year and one of the most costly with an average cost of DUI $6,500.|
|4.6 Million||–||Ireland Population|
|32.3 Million||–||US Residents that claim Irish ancestry|
|56.1%||–||US Residents plan on celebrating St. Patrick’s Day|
|54%||–||of Americans planning to celebrate, choose Beer|
|19%||–||of Americans planning to celebrate, choose Hard Liquor|
|9%||–||of Americans planning to celebrate, choose Both|
|41,582||–||# of Bars in the US|
|29%||–||US Residents planning to attend a party or bar to celebrate|
Pints of Guiness Beer will be drank on St. Patrick’s Day
St. Patrick’s Day falls on a Sunday this year.
69% of Crash Fatalities involve drunk drivers,
between the Hours of Midnight and 5:59 AM, Monday, March 18, 2019
36% of pedestrians killed in crashes on St. Patrick’s Day had a BAC of .08 or higher.
75% of fatal drunk driving crashes on St. Patrick’s Day involve a driver
WHAT’S IT GOING TO COST?
Sobering stats for St. Patrick’s Day – Typical costs to a Virginian Driver.
Virginia categorizes a 1st DUI as a Class 1 Misdemeanor with fines ranging from
Virginians driver’s license
is an automatic
If you BAC is .15 or higher, you will spend
5 DAYS IN JAIL
In Virginia, your average insurance policy for your vehicle will increase by 63%. And remember, if you aren’t driving because of a suspended license, therefore not requiring insurance on your vehicle, then you will be penalized for a gap in your insurance.
will haunt your record affecting your insurance premiums for years, sometimes up to 7 years.
Intersting Fact: Iowa keeps a DUI on their residents record for 12 years.
DMV can require an additional form (SR-22 or FR44) in the event of a DUI conviction. This alone will raise your insurance premiums and usually required to be on the policy for a minimum of 5 years.
Before your driver’s license is reinstated, you are required to complete an alcohol safety and education program.
If your BAC is .15 or higher, you are required to install an Ignition Interlock Device at cost to you.
Average cost of DUI
Court Ordered Fines
Car Insurance Increase
Average vehicle insurance increases $800 per year
Traffic School and Substance Abuse Education
Fees associated with these classes vary, but don’t forget to add in time off of work to attend these classes.
DMV will charge you fees to get your license reinstated and to register your car with reinstatement fee.
Ignition Interlock Device
The cost alone could set you back up to $1000, but don’t forget to charge for the embarrassment of having to blow into a device before your car will start.
Towing and Storage of your Vehicle
Most likely you won’t have a sober person with you when you become arrested, so your vehicle will be towed and stored at a fee until you are able to get it.
And don’t forget, you will be going to jail. If you want to get out of there as soon as possible, you will want to pay your bail. Average Cost of $150.
Spring Cleaning Checklist Part 2: Laundry, Outside, and the Misc. 01 JUNE 2019 Home Lifestyle Tips & Tricks McCall Spring Cleaning Checklist, Part 2 This is the next installment of McCall Spring Cleaning Checklist Part 2. This part covers laundry room,...